Promoting DiversityMath Institutes Diversity Initiative

The NSF Mathematical Sciences Institutes have formed a committee with the goal of joining together in their efforts to support the participation of underrepresented groups in the mathematical sciences, including women, underrepresented racial and ethnic minorities, and persons with disabilities. This page is intended to facilitate that participation by providing links to various opportunities.

Math Institutes Diversity Workshops and Conferences

Cultivating diversity and broadening participation of historically underrepresented groups in the mathematical sciences are national goals that are identified by the National Science Foundation as essential components of the innovation engine that drives the Nation’s economy. There is no “one size fits all” to increasing participation from underrepresented groups so the committee has come together to sponsor the following conferences and workshops that aim to address representation.

Modern Math Workshop, preceding the SACNAS National Conference, is intended to encourage minority undergraduates to pursue careers in the mathematical sciences and to assist undergraduates, graduate students and recent PhD’s in building their research networks. It is sponsored by all NSF math institutes.

The Blackwell-Tapia Conference honors two seminal figures who inspired a generation of African-American, Native American and Latino/Latina mathematicians.  This biennial conference showcases mathematical excellence by minority researchers and awards a prize to a mathematician who has contributed significantly to research in his or her area of expertise and has contributed significantly to addressing the problem of underrepresentation in the mathematical sciences.

Spring Opportunities is a workshop designed to familiarize women and underrepresented minorities in the mathematical sciences with professional opportunities in academia, industry, and government; and address specific challenges currently faced by members of these groups.

Infinite Possibilities, a program of Building Diversity in Science, is a national conference that is designed to promote, educate, encourage and support minority women underrepresented in the mathematical sciences at all stages of the pipeline, from high school to early career faculty. As part of the conference, we sponsor short courses that introduce participants to exciting areas in mathematics.

Other Diversity Links

Organizations & Associations



Member Institutes


Diversity Committee Members
Leslie Hogben AIM
Huaxiong Huang Fields
William Yslas Velez IAS/PCMI
Leona Harris PCMI
Ulrica Wilson ICERM
Daniel Spirn IMA
Christian Ratsch IPAM
Tony Nance MBI
Helene Barcelo MSRI
Suzanne Lenhart NIMBioS
Leslie McClure SAMSI

Math Institutes Diversity Links

Each institute has a range of events and programs that address underrepresentation in the mathematical sciences.  You can find more information on the sites given below.

Diversity at AIM | Diversity at FieldsDiversity at IAS | Diversity at ICERM | Diversity at IMA | Diversity at IPAM | Diversity at MBI | Diversity at MSRI | Diversity at SAMSI