Promoting Diversity

Math Institutes Diversity Initiative

Next Conference
LatMath in March 2018

With funding from the National Science Foundation, the Mathematical Sciences Institutes Diversity Initiative (MSIDI) is a collaboration among the mathematical sciences institutes to increase the participation of underrepresented groups in the mathematical sciences, including women, underrepresented racial and ethnic minorities, and persons with disabilities.

Math Institutes Diversity Workshops and Conferences

Cultivating diversity and broadening participation of historically underrepresented groups in the mathematical sciences are national goals that are identified by the National Science Foundation as essential components of the innovation engine that drives the Nation’s economy. There is no “one size fits all” to increasing participation from underrepresented groups so the NSF Mathematical Science Research Institutes have come together to raise funds and sponsor the following conferences and workshops that aim to address representation.

Along with our Diversity Initiative, the Mathematical Sciences Institutes Diversity Committee is proud to partner with three outstanding organizations at the forefront of addressing underrepresentation in the mathematical sciences— the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM), the National Association of Mathematicians (NAM) and the National Alliance for Doctoral Studies in the Mathematical Science.

The Committee awards prizes to winners of the AWM poster sessions and NAM talks. Each year the Field of Dreams Conference, a program of the National Alliance for Doctoral Studies in the Mathematical Sciences, designates an afternoon as Mathematical Sciences Institutes Day. This afternoon includes a panel at which a representative from each member institute gives a presentation on the institute, its role in the greater scientific community, and upcoming programs.

Member Institutes

Diversity Committee Members
Leslie Hogben hogben@aimath.org AIM
Huaxiong Huang hhuang@fields.utoronto.ca Fields
Ulrica Wilson ulrica_wilson@icerm.brown.edu ICERM
Daniel Spirn spirn@umn.edu IMA
Christian Ratsch cratsch@math.ucla.edu IPAM
Tony Nance tony@mbi.osu.edu MBI
Hélène Barcelo deputy.director@msri.org MSRI
Suzanne Lenhart lenhart@math.utk.edu NIMBioS
Leslie McClure lam439@drexel.edu SAMSI