Promoting Diversity

With funding from the National Science Foundation, the Mathematical Sciences Institutes Diversity Initiative (MSIDI) is a collaboration among the mathematical sciences institutes to increase the participation of underrepresented groups in the mathematical sciences, including women, underrepresented racial and ethnic minorities, and persons with disabilities.

Math Institutes Diversity Workshops and Conferences

Cultivating diversity and broadening participation of historically underrepresented groups in the mathematical sciences are national goals that are identified by the National Science Foundation as essential components of the innovation engine that drives the Nation’s economy. There is no “one size fits all” to increasing participation from underrepresented groups so the NSF Mathematical Science Research Institutes have come together to raise funds and sponsor the following conferences and workshops that aim to address representation.

Next Conferences
Blackwell-Tapia Conference
November 19, 2021 - November 20, 2021
Modern Mathematics Workshop
2021 organized by ICERM in Kansas City, KS
Latinx in the Mathematical Sciences Conference
March 3, 2022 - March 5, 2022
Modern Mathematics Workshop
2022 in San Juan, Puerto Rico
Spring Opportunities Workshop
2023 organized by IAS

Along with our Diversity Initiative, the Mathematical Sciences Institutes Diversity Committee is proud to work with organizations at the forefront of addressing underrepresentation in the mathematical sciences, such as the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) and the National Association of Mathematicians (NAM). Every year the Committee awards prizes to winners of the AWM poster sessions and NAM new PhDs sessions.

Member Institutes

Diversity Committee Members
Leslie Hogben hogben@aimath.org AIM
Deirdre Haskell dhaskell@fields.utoronto.ca Fields
Rafe Mazzeo rmazzeo@stanford.edu IAS/PCMI
Ulrica Wilson ulrica_wilson@icerm.brown.edu ICERM
Daniel Spirn spirn@umn.edu IMA
Douglas Simpson dgs@illinois.edu IMSI
Christian Ratsch cratsch@math.ucla.edu IPAM
Tony Nance tony@mbi.osu.edu MBI
Hélène Barcelo deputy.director@msri.org MSRI
Sudipta Dasmohapatra sudipta@samsi.info SAMSI